Day 23 of my 30-day challenge to exercise and meditate for 15 minutes each, every day and then document my process. The night before I had discussed some issues with an employee.  They were upset with another member of management and wanted to quit their job. The employee stated she would come in and talk to the manager if that manager called her and requested a one on one. So, of course, I filled in the manager so she could call the employee for a one on one. So as I was going into work I got a message the employee quit and was done. She wasn’t giving any notice and was done immediately.

All in all, I think she was ready to be done and I don’t think there was anything we could have done to retain her employment. Not everyone is cut out for this type of work and that’s okay. I made the mistake of trying to push some Law of Attraction information on her and requested she go to the library and check it out. I asked her to stop telling the story of she’s just getting by. She took great offense and told me, “Shame on me for saying that,” and something about I will deal with God at some point, or something to that extent? I just know I offended her. I was totally attempting to help her. She did not take it that way.

So I guess the take away here is, don’t help unless it is asked for. Some people don’t want to be helped and that’s fine too. I have this urge to help everyone, even when they don’t ask or want it. I want to fix everything and make everyone happy. I have it in my mind this is achievable even though I know it isn’t.  I know the only thing I can control is my mind and body. I also know I don’t have the skills to help everyone but I sure would like the ability to help ease some peoples suffering. Maybe I’ll get there someday.

Shortly after one employee quit another member of management quit too. I had to go relieve her and collect her items since she too decided to give no notice. Before I left, I got a sign that energy was very intense but to be sure to be compassionate in your interactions as you never know anyone else’s struggle. This is so true. I had been fuming earlier with how the whole day played out but once I received those signs I took a deep breath and decided to go with another approach. It was going to be okay. I made sure I had a witness and another member of management came over to work part of the shift so I could take the collected items back to the office.

The whole interaction went surprisingly well. Again, this type of work isn’t for everyone and certain personality types clash. I sent loving energy to both women who left our company and hoped they both would find careers that would lift them up, challenge them and be a better fit for them than our company. As soon as I left to go back to the office I was elated. I couldn’t have asked for a better interaction. I knew that this is exactly what was supposed to happen and I was grateful. I was grateful that people who didn’t want to work for us moved on and hopefully will find better careers and I know more amazing employees are on their way. I felt so lucky to have space now to be able to welcome these amazing employees into our company.

I took a short hour break and went to the site to relieve the first case manager. I had to work until 10 pm and then come in at 7:45a the next day. I hadn’t worked with the clients in a while so it was very nice seeing them and hanging out with them again. The time flew by and 10 pm came pretty quick. When I got off of work I took my dog for a walk around the block. It was lovely. The sun had gone down so it had cooled off a bit and there was a nice breeze.

As I meditated I thought about how perspective really changes everything. I started my day stressed and pissed off and ended completely elated and filled with joy. My day got more stressful but as soon as I decided to find joy and love in the situation it went amazingly. I really couldn’t have asked for a better day. Go fucking figure. Love really is the answer to all of life’s problems. Why is it so hard to find the love? Why is it so difficult to have compassion for our fellow man? or woman? Why is it so hard to give a shit that everyone is going through a struggle? We seem to be so consumed with our own struggle and how everyone else is making us unhappy. Perhaps it’s time to let that go? Or at least start attempting to let that go, might be more realistic. One step at a time and one more day down.

